Call for Nominations

2019 François Arago Award in Polarimetric Remote Sensing

We are pleased to solicit nominations for the 2019 *François Arago Award* presented by the International APOLO Project. This senior Award is intended to celebrate profound contributions by a prominent scientist to the research field of polarimetric remote sensing.



The "Advancement of POLarimetric Observations: instruments, calibration, and improved aerosol and cloud retrievals" (APOLO) Project was created to promote polarimetry as a remote-sensing technique by organizing a series of advanced international conferences. It has been supported by a number of key organizations such as the Chinese Academy of Sciences, CNES, CNRS, EUMETSAT, NASA, and Université de Lille. The first APOLO conference, APOLO-2017, was held 24–27 October 2017 in Hefei, China.

Dominique François Jean Arago (1786–1853) was a great French physicist and astronomer as well as a prominent politician. Using his ingeniously designed optical instrumentation, he pioneered the discipline of polarimetric observations in geophysics and astrophysics and is a founder of polarimetry as a remote sensing tool.

On behalf of the *François Arago Award Committee*, we invite you to nominate a highly deserving candidate for the 2019 Award. Nominations of scientists of all nationalities will be considered. Each nomination package (to be submitted as a single PDF file) *must* consist of a detailed nomination letter and the nominee's CV and publications list. The nomination letter must focus on the pioneering research contributions of the nominee and an explanation of their fundamental importance. Self-nominations will not be accepted.

Nominations should be submitted by 15 September 2019 to Dr. Didier Tanré (Award Committee Chairman) at didier.tanre@univ-lille.fr with a copy to Dr. Oleg Dubovik at oleg.dubovik@univ-lille.fr.

The award will be presented at the forthcoming APOLO-2019 conference, 4–7 November 2019, Lille, France (http://www-loa.univ-lille1.fr/workshops/APOLO-2019).

We look forward to your nominations for the 2019 François Arago Award selection.

Didier Tanré, Chairman of the 2019 François Arago Award Committee